Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah, n00b here.

I was curious as to how many people here use trail cams to scout ducks? I use them extensively for deer and bears and such during the summer and just yesterday set one up to take pics of a pool I bird hunt hunt in. Though I have a lot of experience with using them on other critters, this is my first time trying them specifically on birds. This time I used some corn as an attractant (it's out of season here, of course), but I don't like doing that for deer and would like to move away from it in the future. I guess what I'm looking for is some pointers or tips from others that may have had success with using trail cams on ducks. Best way to camo them? Do you use them at night if they're of the flash variety? A search turned up little.

Also, if anyone else is doing this, do you have pics you can post?

I might have some results from my first experiment as soon as tomorrow, since this time I left the cam mere inches above the water line and it's forecasted to rain here tomorrow, so any tips I get could be put into action almost immediately.

Thanks

PICTURES MOVED TO THE FOLLOWING LINK-

http://www.duckhuntingchat.com/viewtopic.php?t=58431

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
Tangier Island Slacker said:
I left the cam mere inches above the water line and it's forecasted to rain here tomorrow, so any tips I get could be put into action almost immediately.

Thanks
If rain is forecast, and your camera is "inches above the water," you might want to make sure it doesn't get submerged or float away.

Good luck.

·
Registered
3,846 Posts
I tend to be a bit denser in the attic than most people, but I actually sit right out there in the bays, on the shoals, and in the swamps and marshes in the morning and the evening and take notice of the comings and goings of the ducks I'm after. I always thought trail cams were meant for nocturnal movements of animals.

·
Registered