Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is definitely going to flag me as a newbie, but what the hell. I'm new to this, and haven't had a chance to actually go out and give it a try yet.

When do you guys put your waders on? Are they comfortable enough that you put them on at your truck and then hike in to where you'll be hunting, or do you wear something more comfortable for the hike in and switch to the waders once you're in there?

I get the impression that a lot of hunters don't like to take the time to hike/lug their gear too far from where they park. I love to hike, so I'm thinking that packing light weight and hiking a ways might be a good way to get away from the crowd.

Does that make sense? How far do people here tend to hike before they set up?

·
Registered
2,027 Posts
I will hike up to a mile in my neoprenes, but do not enjoy it. I personally usually put my waders on at the house, and drive in them to my hunting spot, wear them all day and take them off when I get home. If its not cold where you hunt, get some breathables and throw them in a pack. I have some, but it gets too cold down here for them.

Mike

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
depends. I usually put the waders in a decoy bag and wear my gortex boots as far as I can. Then I put on my waders. If the spot is close to the truck, or I am riding in a boat, then I put them on when I park the truck. My 5mm make it too dang hot to hike to far.

·
Registered
598 Posts
If I don't have very far to go or can ride a fourwheeler in our something then I put mine on before I leave the house. But if I've got a good ways to go then I wait til the last possible place to put them on. Those 5mm 1200g of thinsulate get pretty dang hot!

·
Registered
17 Posts